Meet the Team

Rector: Rev Catherine Simpson

Catherine has a passion to see people come to faith and know Christ better. She is passionate about team ministry and individuals being released into their God given gifts and consequently seeing the local church impact its community and beyond.

Rev Catherine Simpson joined us in May 2019. She is a past pupil of Ballymena Academy and graduated from the University of Lancaster with a Primary Education Degree.

After graduation, Catherine worked as a primary school teacher. In 2010 she left her role as Vice Principal of McKinney Primary School, Dundrod to train for ordination at the Church of Ireland Theological College in Dublin.

After ordination she served as Deacon Intern in Castledawson where she completed her Masters in the Church’s response to Peace-making, “The extent to which intrinsic and extrinsic factors influence the engagement of a parish with the process of reconciliation in its local context, local context being specifically urban, rural and cross-border.”

After her internship in the Diocese of Derry and Raphoe, Catherine was appointed the Curate in Seapatrick Parish, Banbridge, Diocese of Down and Dromore. During this time she wrote a course called ‘Be Reconciled’, which was launched on the 20th Anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement.

Community Outreach Coordinator: Miss Kerry Connolly

Kerry is originally from Bangor and has an Honours Degree in Theology: Youth Work and Ministry and JNC Youth Work Qualification from Nazarene Theological College, Manchester. Having served in a variety of contexts in England and here in Northern Ireland, Kerry joined us in September 2022 from St Jude’s Parish, Belfast where she was primarily working with women and girls. She said, “We had an action packed year, particularly our month of mission events with A Passion for Life and it was a privilege to share the Good News with Ballynafeigh in new and creative ways. I’m grateful for the support of the brilliant staff team and congregation.”

Kerry loves good coffee, true crime documentaries, swimming in the sea, beach walks, reading and her cats Harry, Luna & Severus. 

Select Vestry 2023 -2024

Rev C Simpson Chair

Lauren Penton Hon Secretary

Tony Gregg Hon Treasurer,

Ian Richardson Vicar’s Churchwarden,

Clive Penton People’s Churchwarden

Mark Smyrl Vicar’s Glebewarden,

Ian Duncan People’s Glebewarden,

Christine Beale,

Hazel Johnston,

Irene Davison,

Heather Pollock,

David McIllhagger,

Charlene Miller,

James Douglas,

Ann Southall,

Frank Williams

Parochial Nominators
David McIlhagger
Ian Richardson
Clive Penton
Heather Pollock

Diocesan Synod
Ian Richardson
Christine Beale
Kerry Connolly (under 30)